Stay informed! Visit the SA Department of Health's website for COVID-19 updates:

Fit and Proper Compliance (FAIS)

This check establishes whether the candidate has been authorised by the Financial Sector Contact Authority (FSCA) to advise consumers on Financial or Insurance services as per the Financial Advisory and Intermediary Services Act 2002 (Act no. 37 of 2002).

In 2008, legislation changed the standard an adviser would have to achieve in order to be considered "fit and proper”.

The standard consisted of five elements, namely:

  1. Financial soundness
  2. Operational ability
  3. Honesty and integrity
  4. Competency and
  5. Continuous professional development (CPD)

The three critical elements contained in the competency category, are:

  1. Qualifications
  2. Experience and
  3. Regulatory exams (RE)

Representatives are allowed six-years from their DoFA to work under supervision whilst attaining the necessary knowledge, skills and experience. They are also obliged to write the regulatory exams within specific time frames, again determined by their DoFA.